Skip to main content
Topic: Forgive the noob questions :-( (Read 1572 times) previous topic - next topic

Forgive the noob questions :-(

Hi - new to the forums.

I have previously dabbled with various distros, and then came across Artix, which looks really interesting.

I have never used Arch before, but am always keen to try.

I downloaded the artix ( cinammon - Open Rc ) iso, flashed to a drive and booted to the live desktop.

All good, in fact better than Debian, because it recognised my Broadcom wifi- Yay!

Then I attempted to open Mirodi.

I got the mini ''washing machine''   for a few seconds

And then a few more

and more.

In fact, no applications would open at all?

By chance I logged out and in again and- hey presto- it works.

O.K this is where I show my true NOOBNESS.

I wanted to install some  programs  ( brave browser, express vpn, email etc), and this is where I got stuck.

I was expecting a package manager to be available similar to some of the ''other'' more mainstream distros.

I went to the AUR, typed in ''brave'', and ir gave me various things, but I didnt recognise many of the formats?

Using terminal,  no ''apt-get'', I couldn't find snaps,  couldn;t install ''yay'' or anyway tio install programs.

Now forgive my ignorance, but how do I install programs? -  Arch has a massive repo, but I cant find a simple way of installing things.

Or are  there more things to upgrade in the Artix OS before I can do these things?

If you can stifle a yawn, and have the patience to explain in laymans terms, I would be most grateful.

BTW, I couldn't find anything understandable in the documentation., and PLEASE, don't say there are plenty of simpler, idiot enabled distros :-) = I LIKE TO LEARN.

Many Thanks

Pootler

Re: Forgive the noob questions :-(

Reply #1
I will only write this very brief comment before going to sleep.

I was expecting a package manager to be available similar to some of the ''other'' more mainstream distros.