Skip to main content
Topic solved
This topic has been marked as solved and requires no further attention.
Topic: [SOLVED] OpenRC, System Update, then Reboot: Machine Only Boots to Console (Read 825 times) previous topic - next topic

[SOLVED] OpenRC, System Update, then Reboot: Machine Only Boots to Console

Hello, this is my first post here. Ive been using arch Linux for 2 years, and switched over to Artix recently. I'm not a power user, just a hobbyist who hates windows spyware. After I did an update and reboot after the update, my machine will not boot to the normal login screen for Plasma. My system is up to date, and the only error I see is during the start up console screen that flashes all the things that are starting. I can't scroll up to see what failed because it goes so fast. I thought I saw it was nvidia so I deleted all my nvidia packages and reinstalled them with pacman, still not fixed. Then I tried deleting and reinstalling Plasma with pacman, not fixed. I tried installing xfce and no fix. I tried using the Intramfs fallback Artix option in the bootup, and I'm all out of ideas now. Do any of you guys know what's going on here? I have normal function in my terminal, and the sddm service is working fine according to rc-service or openrc, whatever command would tell me if its running.

Re: OpenRC, System Update, then Reboot: Machine Only Boots to Console

Reply #1
If you don't have a graphical login screen at boot (which is a responsibility of your display manager, sddm), then either your DM (sddm) or X.Org are not working properly. The only way that issues can be debugged is by looking at logs. /var/log contains a number of logs, the most relevant of which would be Xorg.0.log and sddm.log.

Reply #2
Most likely a problem with nvidia, see if the nvidia module is loaded: lsmod | grep nvidia
If not, you need to re-install the relevant package or better use the -dkms version (e.g. nvidia-dkms, if your card is recent enough).

Reply #3