Skip to main content
Topic: Artix Linux-libre, the ultimate distro (Read 2016 times) previous topic - next topic

Artix Linux-libre, the ultimate distro

Hello. I've been using Artix and Parabola for a few years. In this post, I would like to make the case to include the Linux-libre kernel in the standard Artix repos.

For anyone not familiar with it, it's a deblobbed, "sanitized", version of the Linux kernel, managed by the FSF, that comes as default in a few distributions like Parabola.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux-libre

I truly believe it would be a great improvement to Artix to have linux-libre in the main repos, together with linux-libre-hardened and linux-libre-firmware. Here are my arguments:
   1. As most of you should know, the Linux kernel has been going down a horrible path, by including proprietary code, DRM, bowing to corporate and political interests, among other issues;
   2. There are alternatives to completely avoid the Linux-kernel, like OpenBSD, but they loose certain features only present in Linux, and have less software compatibility. No other kernel project will get that amount of man-hours and funding;
   3. Linux-libre is the only Linux derivative for someone going for true privacy and security;
   4. Even though it's present in the AUR, installing/updating can take hours, making it problematic for users who want/need a fast binary-based distro. Traditional compilation is also an option, but Artix/Arch users typically choose the distro instead of Gentoo to avoid compiling from source, which also takes hours.
   5. Parabola, the only Arch-based distro that uses Linux-libre as default, lacks the init options and the good work and momentum Artix has been getting. It also has, in my opinion, a less than ideal approach for dealing with proprietary code, as there are valid circumstances for users to use some blobs, despite the privacy, security and ethical problems;