Skip to main content
Topic: [SOLVED] an absurd question ['can i keep obsolete libraries in my new linux?'] (Read 649 times) previous topic - next topic

[SOLVED] an absurd question ['can i keep obsolete libraries in my new linux?']

i have an issue with upgarding my system using 'pacman -Syu' & i`m aware of the news on the Arch`s front page telling 'get rid of wxgtk3 now! we push wxwidgets-gtk3 into repos!' ???  BUT i have older version of Audacity (v.2.4.1) that depends on wxgtk3 v.3.0.5.1-3 STRICTLY and i CANNOT TOSS IT AWAY in favour of Audacity v.3! :'(
that`s because i do disagree with Audacity team on matters of 'non-destructive editing' & 'aup3 format' (because it is implemented with obese mySQL). i am a musician-programmer and i am a perfectionist...
i do love my two mid-aged laptops and i`m not going to buy new workstation every year when some one decides to move away from declared conformance to minimalist principles of Unix.
QUESTION: how can i keep older library package in Artix? (going to fork Audacity & to use AppImage for it but ...i need to learn C language yet)

PACMAN:
Code: [Select]
Starting full system upgrade...
warning: audacity: ignoring package upgrade (1:2.4.1-7.1 => 1:3.2.1-2)
warning: flac: ignoring package upgrade (1.3.4-3 => 1.4.1-2)
warning: libopenmpt: ignoring package upgrade (0.6.4-1 => 0.6.6-2)
warning: libsndfile: ignoring package upgrade (1.1.0-2 => 1.1.0-3)
warning: ignoring package replacement (wxgtk-common-3.0.5.1-3 => wxwidgets-common-3.2.1-1)
warning: ignoring package replacement (wxgtk-common-3.0.5.1-3 => wxwidgets-common-3.2.1-1)
warning: ignoring package replacement (wxgtk3-3.0.5.1-3 => wxwidgets-gtk3-3.2.1-1)
warning: ignoring package replacement (wxgtk3-3.0.5.1-3 => wxwidgets-gtk3-3.2.1-1)
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...
:: wxwidgets-gtk3 and wxgtk3 are in conflict. Remove wxgtk3? [y/N] n
error: unresolvable package conflicts detected