Skip to main content
Topic solved
This topic has been marked as solved and requires no further attention.
Topic: [SOLVED] Audio stuttering on Pipewire (Read 4597 times) previous topic - next topic

[SOLVED] Audio stuttering on Pipewire

Greetings,

I have been using Artix for almost 3 years now and I'm really happy with it, even though I've used the distro for this long I'm new on this forum.

I have a really annoying issue when it comes to audio: in certain situation the audio tends to drop/skip/glitch. This has been happening for a while now and I couldn't find a real solution on the Pipewire GitLab (where I opened an issue).

The configuration is completely vanilla (unless there is some rogue configuration file I'm not awake of).

I have found a couple ways to reproduce this issue:

1. Play a song using MPV
2. While the song is playing, open pavucontrol

Or

1. Play a song using Music Player Daemon
2. Open any kind of WebRTC call (Discord, Telegram, Jitsi Meet...)

Pipewire Logs will report that XRuns and "Client too slow!" messages. If I try to record anything using Tenacity (Audacity fork) while these issues are going on, the software will report dropouts.

I have tried:

- Using an external USB Mixer (Behringer XENYX QX1002USB) doesn't help with the issue
- The issue doesn't seem to present itself on Ubuntu Linux Live (had to try it to exclude an hardware issue)
- Forcing the quantum to higher values (like 2048) mitigates the issue, but comes with a lot of other issues (like not being able to hear people in calls after a while or echo-cancel modules breaking down)
- Incrementing alsa headroom doesn't seem to help

I'm attaching:
- Inxi -GSC -xx output
- pipewire log while the issue is happening (log level 5)
- screenshot of pw-top showing errors in MPV, Pavucontrol and hardware
- pw-dump output