Skip to main content
Topic: Dinit services, alsa and thunderbolt (Read 419 times) previous topic - next topic

Dinit services, alsa and thunderbolt

I can't do this anymore. I read tons of documentation pages, forum and IA help and I can't find a solution for this. I am literally getting crazy.
So, my main problem is alsa that won't charge and I can't use my thunderbolt interface.
About alsa: dinitctl marks it as {x}. If I try to reload or restart it prints a message as status 99.
Modprobe command says that there is no alsa module inside the kernel's directory. So, I tried to export the path for alsa (but as a noob I searched for it with nemo and there are a huge amount of directories about alsa... I tried to set the one with the module extension...). Nothing happen.
About thunderbolt: boltctl prints my interface as authorized and it is marked as running (green dot next to the interface's name). I tried boltctl enroll, but it was already enrolled.

Then, others modules are not working properly:
- fsck {–}
- early-modules.target {x}
- modules {x}
- early-fs-fstab.target {x}

I'm running a real time kernel, dinit and xfce.
The stock kernel load everything (maybe just alsa won't load, i don't remember) but I actually need the real time one.

Please help!
Thanks in advance

Re: Dinit services, alsa and thunderbolt

Reply #1
You need to provide more details. Where there are errors post them.

I know little about dinit but on openrc you can turn on debug logging and then look in the log to hopefully see why the various services are failing to start.

Which real time kernel are you running ?
It's maybe that the  real time kernel is missing some modules that that standard kernel has?
It's also possible that you messed up the installation of realtime kernel and the bootloader is not loading the kernel you expect and that kernel is looking for the wrong set of modules? This has happened to users on this forum  before.