Artix Linux Forum

Artix Linux => Announcements => Topic started by: nous on April 14, 2018, 11:22:55 PM

Title: Packagers wanted!
Post by: nous on April 14, 2018, 11:22:55 PM
We urgently need more people able to contribute to packaging.

You don't have to be an expert in the occult arts for that; an elementary grasp of Linux in general and how PKGBUILD works should be enough for basic contributions. Help and training will be provided, free of charge!

You can apply here or in PM.
Title: Re: Packagers wanted!
Post by: gavin17 on April 16, 2018, 12:11:36 AM
Count me in
Post by: nous on April 17, 2018, 12:59:26 AM
Count me in

PM sent.
Post by: Relih on April 19, 2018, 09:42:09 AM
Guess I'll never know if I don't try, PM me and we can look for a date for me to frustrate you  :P
Post by: UnclePa on May 18, 2018, 06:55:55 PM
My time is pretty limited, but I might be able to help some.  I used to maintain several of the orphaned OCaml libraries in Arch so I have some experience with PKGBUILD.  What is involved?
Post by: Seventh on May 19, 2018, 11:17:39 AM
I may be able to help, let me know.
Post by: nous on May 19, 2018, 10:52:23 PM
My time is pretty limited, but I might be able to help some.  I used to maintain several of the orphaned OCaml libraries in Arch so I have some experience with PKGBUILD.  What is involved?
I may be able to help, let me know.

Replying in PM.
Post by: archfan on May 21, 2018, 02:32:00 PM
Yup, I'd like to help with that as well!
Post by: kenny_w on May 21, 2018, 02:44:49 PM
Hey man I just made my first 3 PKGBUILD's, I made them out of git repos instead of them being like actual packages with version numbers/etc, all I really need to learn is how to give it a version number & how to make it automate its own updates...