Skip to main content
Topic: "keyboard stuck" after reboot (Read 742 times) previous topic - next topic

"keyboard stuck" after reboot

Hi, I'm fairly new to linux and I hope this is the right subsection to post in?

Essentially i have a new Lenovo E14 Gen 3, tried to install Arch (newest iso) and couldn't connect to wifi - tried an older iso and wifi worked for installation but then after installation whilst I could eventually login systemd wouldn't start lightdm. I decided to take the plunge and try Artix I have tried runit, openrc and s6 init systems, so far I prefer openrc - so that is what is currently installed. No issues with lightdm or connecting to wifi.

The problem I have is that when I reboot the system, grub will load I choose Artix then it usually hangs, the keyboard does nothing (i.e capslock indicator led won't change when pressed) I hold the power button to turn the laptop off... then power back on and I get a message which appears to be from lenovo bios (same font/text size) saying "keyboard stuck" (or along those lines it flashes up so fast.) Then openrc will load and everything seems to be fine. I have also seen messages about kernal panic but won' have that info unless it happens again as I decided to reinstall last night (sorry.) Shutting down and repowering the device doesn't seem to cause this issue.

Searching online returns useless results about sticky keys or having keys with debris under them. The keyboard is perfectly functional!

I am not sure if this is a bug I should report to Lenovo, or whether it is possibly a bug in the kernal? The laptop does have the latest bios firmware.

Although I have used Arch for a few months on a different laptop - I am not sure where to find specific logs which may be helpful to diagnose and fix the issue - (my other laptop had zero problems, so no need to look on my part)