Skip to main content
Topic: [SOLVED] pcsclite-openrc: why log to stdout? (Read 1146 times) previous topic - next topic

[SOLVED] pcsclite-openrc: why log to stdout?

I successfully installed pcsclite-openrc and everything works well with my yubikey. However, since I only have newbie experience with openrc from one gentoo installation in the past, I struggle with the logging of some daemons such as pcscd. Somehow the daemon is configured to log to stdout with the -f flag:

/etc/init.d/pcscd
Code: [Select]
command_args="${EXTRA_OPTS} -f"

Now I am a newbie when it comes to openrc and logging systems such as syslog-ng. I just found out about supervise-daemon in the gentoo openrc wiki: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/OpenRC/supervise-daemon. This kind of explains why the -f flag is used, but how do I access logs from stdout? The wiki states:

Any terminal output sent by the daemon process to stdout and stderr can be caught by the supervisor, and then sent to the system logger [...]

I do not find any logs from pcscd in /var/log/messages.log, other than it being started by the supervisor. What do I need to do to get it to log via syslog-ng?  Is it about the loglevel? I'm not sure what to do.

Re: pcsclite-openrc: why log to stdout?

Reply #1
Change /etc/init.d/pcscd to contain this line:
supervise_daemon_args="--stdout /var/log/yourlogfile"

Reply #2
Change /etc/init.d/pcscd to contain this line:
supervise_daemon_args="--stdout /var/log/yourlogfile"

Thank you for your reply, that's good to know! Any place where I can find this documented?

I'm still confused though about the documentation I quoted, specifically "can be caught by the supervisor, and then sent to the system logger". Your example logs directly to the file -- any way I can somehow send it through syslog? I thought the point of using syslog is that I do not have to redirect output to specific files.

Reply #3
-f, --foreground