Skip to main content
Topic: [SOLVED] mongodb (Read 1252 times) previous topic - next topic

[SOLVED] mongodb

I have a working artix-lxde-runit system after migration from Arch linux.  I have a number of issues related to software which i don't think I can yet install.

One of these is mongodb-bin which is an archlinux AUR package derived from  deb files provided at https://repo.mongodb.org/apt; however as with so many they assume that we have systemd etc etc. I would like advice on how to go about converting the PKGBUILD into something that can be used with runit.

Effectively I think that means I have to deal with

install -Dm644 "$srcdir/mongodb_${CARCH}.service" "$pkgdir/usr/lib/systemd/system/mongodb.service"
  install -Dm644 "$srcdir/mongodb.sysusers" "$pkgdir/usr/lib/sysusers.d/mongodb.conf"
  install -Dm644 "$srcdir/mongodb.tmpfiles" "$pkgdir/usr/lib/tmpfiles.d/mongodb.conf"

I have some experience with runit so can probably make up a runit file to start mongodb.

I think I can understand sysUsers & tmpfiles, but how when do I act on it. I see there are two binaries systemd-sysusers and systemd-tmpfiles. Should I use those  on the filesinstead of installing?

Any advice welcome; if someone has already done this I would be glad to try out. Also assuming I eventually arrive at a working PKGBUILD, what should I do with it ie is there some place it can be published for others to use?

EDIT: I created an AUR for the runit script here https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/mongodb-runit/

Re: mongodb

Reply #1
install -Dm644 "$srcdir/mongodb_${CARCH}.service" "$pkgdir/usr/lib/systemd/system/mongodb.service"
  install -Dm644 "$srcdir/mongodb.sysusers" "$pkgdir/usr/lib/sysusers.d/mongodb.conf"
  install -Dm644 "$srcdir/mongodb.tmpfiles" "$pkgdir/usr/lib/tmpfiles.d/mongodb.conf"
Only the first line needs to be deleted. The tmpfiles and sysusers are taken care by the respective stand-alone packages in Artix.