Skip to main content
Topic: cant log in but im using the right password (Read 947 times) previous topic - next topic

cant log in but im using the right password

Hello, I've been using the same password for a couple of months now. Yesterday, I went to sudo pacman -Syu but when I used my password, it simply said "Incorrect password. try again" I logged out of Artix and now I cant log back in. Currently writing this in a different distro. Is there anything I can do?

Thank you.

also, sorry if this is in the wrong subforum. im new.
lul

Re: cant log in but im using the right password

Reply #1
Brute force unencrypt the password with john the ripper? You might want to use cgmanager or something similar for cpu limiting though or it will use 100% CPU possibly for hours (days? who knows...!) on end. This would look randomly / incrementally, which might be what you wanted, although you can do smart searches, and might want to modify this command:

Code: [Select]
/path-to/run/john --session=s1 --save-memory=1 --min-length=?(somenumber) --max-length=? --incremental=ASCII ~/path-to-passwd-copy/passwd
(restart cracking after reboot, you could automate this as a startup command so it runs whenever you are running)
/path-to/run/john --restore=s1
(show results)
/path-to/run/john --show ~/path-to-passwd-copy/passwd
Some probably quicker approaches: there are usually backup files too for /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow called /etc/passwd~ and /etc/shadow~ and I THINK you can copy the original ones aside and copy the backup *~ ones in, after mounting the partition from elsewhere, but I have never done this myself! Probably there are ways to clear or reset the password if you mount the drive as root and could chroot to it or something - I seem to remember setting passwords in a chroot before, and you gain root permission in the system you are chrooting from, not to.