Skip to main content
Topic: pacman -Syu dies unexpectedly. (Read 721 times) previous topic - next topic

pacman -Syu dies unexpectedly.

I'm relatively new to Artix, with lots of experience on other distros.

Today I tried to update my system with "pacman -Syu". It downloaded a lot of packages, installed them, and then started running a series of post-transaction hooks. It died like this.
Code: [Select]
==> Starting build: 5.13.6-artix1-1
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
modprobe: ERROR: missing parameters. See -h.

This left me with an unbootable system.  Grub can't find the initrd image. I might be able to devise a workaround, but thought I would ask here first. I guess I'll try to teemporarily bypass installation of the newest  kernel. Artix looks sort of vulnerable to error here ... the only kernel I can find is "vmlinuz-linux". Most distros keep at least one old kernel lying around, for error recovery.

As always, any and all suggestions are welcome.
--
David Bryant
Canyon Lake, Texas

Re: pacman -Syu dies unexpectedly.

Reply #1
I'm relatively new to Artix, with lots of experience on other distros.

Today I tried to update my system with "pacman -Syu". It downloaded a lot of packages, installed them, and then started running a series of post-transaction hooks. It died like this.
Code: [Select]
==> Starting build: 5.13.6-artix1-1
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
modprobe: ERROR: missing parameters. See -h.

This left me with an unbootable system.  Grub can't find the initrd image. I might be able to devise a workaround, but thought I would ask here first. I guess I'll try to teemporarily bypass installation of the newest  kernel. Artix looks sort of vulnerable to error here ... the only kernel I can find is "vmlinuz-linux". Most distros keep at least one old kernel lying around, for error recovery.