Skip to main content
Topic solved
This topic has been marked as solved and requires no further attention.
Topic: [SOLVED] ThinkPad X220 volume buttons (Read 2208 times) previous topic - next topic

[SOLVED] ThinkPad X220 volume buttons

Hi everyone,

I am running Artix with LARBS by Luke Smith and the mute/volume/toggle microphone buttons in the upper left of my keyboard are not working as they should be. The mute and toggle mic buttons both have an orange led on them which turns on as soon as I boot into the system, but if I press them nothing happens. I managed to toggle the mute with:

pactl set-sink-mute @DEFAULT_SINK@ toggle

But I still cannot control the volume and mic through the physical byttons. After googling for a while I imagine the key is re-mapping such buttons with commands such as:

pactl set-sink-volume @DEFAULT_SINK@ -10%
pactl set-sink-volume @DEFAULT_SINK@ +10%
pactl set-source-mute @DEFAULT_SOURCE@ toggle

But I am a newbie and don't know which files I should edit to do so. Any help? :)

Thanks in advance!

Re: ThinkPad X220 volume buttons

Reply #1
I sometimes want to type a £ symbol on a US keyboard that doesn't have this, so I just put this command in my desktop "startup applications" (possibly this would need the keycode changing to work on other hw)
Code: [Select]
xmodmap -e 'keycode 118 = Insert sterling Insert'
Simplistic but functional  :D
So if you can figure out a command to do what you want then that's one way, perhaps you might find something neater.

/usr/lib/udev/hwdb.d/60-keyboard.hwdb
contains udev rules for various hardware control buttons, you could create something like that and perhaps even submit it upstream to add general support for your hardware if it was missing, see the Arch Wiki page as a start point:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/libinput