Skip to main content
Topic: Configuring bash in tty to show cursor and also set default foreground colour. (Read 546 times) previous topic - next topic

Configuring bash in tty to show cursor and also set default foreground colour.

How do I make bash in tty and the basic login in tty(probably elogind, I'm not a Linux expert) have cursor. In my tty I don't have one, unless I run some command that either also resets my foreground colours to default white. I want to have a cursor by default like in most systemd distros when you switch to a different tty and face the login text.

On a different note, does anyone know how to set the foreground of a bash in tty after login to default Blue always? Like not be reset after a command to white everytime?

Re: Configuring bash in tty to show cursor and also set default foreground colour.

Reply #3
I have a cursor when I switch to a tty, but never had to put it there myself. The vte-common package seems to provide /etc/profile.d/vte.sh, which looks like it might set up the prompt (well possibly, I haven't tested what happens if it's missing or altered)  and is a dependency of vte3 which is a dependency of mate-terminal, could you somehow be missing this package if you had some other GUI terminal? Although I don't think it would affect this issue, the bash-completion package might also not be installed if you did a base install and cause other oddities compared to other distros.

Re: Configuring bash in tty to show cursor and also set default foreground colour.

Reply #4
@replabrobin @Hitman I'm so sorry for replying late, got stuck with stuff. I tried your suggestions in the bashrc file for PS1 and it didn't work although it did set the colour blue. The screen resets to grey after I use the "ls -l" command. Anyway to really make it permanent regardless of what commands I issue? I mean this feels like just a more complicated alternative to the setterm command.