Skip to main content
Topic solved
This topic has been marked as solved and requires no further attention.
Topic: [SOLVED] Support for Multiple Kernels? (Read 800 times) previous topic - next topic

[SOLVED] Support for Multiple Kernels?

Hi all.

I am relatively new to the Artix and Linux community (coming up on a little over a year of daily use in Linux, and 4 months in Artix).

When I installed Artix I simply installed the standard linux kernel, but was looking into how to install the linux-lts kernel to have a backup in case of unexpected kernel issues in the future.

I looked up the basics on how to do it on Arch and also cross referenced the forums here. After assessing what I thought was the necessary amount of research, I simply followed the basics of what you can find online which is simply:

sudo pacman -Sy linux-lts linux-lts-headers

sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

And reboot.

All looks well in the grub menu, but after selecting linux-lts, I am brought to a blank prompt with a simple empty cursor.

Is there any further configuration I need to do?

I read that in the past other Artix users had bemoaned the inability to use multiple kernels on their system, but all of these posts were at least a couple years old, and I was wondering if this is still an issue on Artix?

Thanks for taking the time to look at this post.

Re: Support for Multiple Kernels?

Reply #1
Hello,
by any chance are you using nvidia graphics card?

Reply #2
Hello,
by any chance are you using nvidia graphics card?

Oh boy, yes I am. I didn't think that would necessarily be related, but it makes sense... could you elaborate please?

Reply #3
What nvidia kernel modules do you have installed ?

Here I think Artix is not providing nvidia-lts package and you need to install "nvidia-dkms".

Reply #4
What nvidia kernel modules do you have installed ?

Here I think Artix is not providing nvidia-lts package and you need to install "nvidia-dkms".

This is all I have related to nvidia: