Skip to main content
Topic: mkinitcpio fail to generate an UEFI executable (Read 1373 times) previous topic - next topic

mkinitcpio fail to generate an UEFI executable

Hello,

I switched to Artix Linux a few weeks ago and I am not an expert in system administration. I recently became interested in securing the boot process and discovered that it was not that complicated to create your own keys, sign your binaries and activate secure boot again. However, in order to go further in this process, I have to generate a unified kernel image. I already used mkinitcpio in the past to generate images, but not UEFI ones.

I tried to launch the first command from this page of ArchWiki (modified with my current esp path) and already added the microcode and default_ef_image parameters in the preset file. It successfully generates an initramfs image, it then tries to create an UEFI executable, tells “Using kernel image, cmdline, os-release file, microcode image” and stutters from here with the following lines:
“objcopy: «  »: pas de tel fichier --> no such file
objcopy: --change-section-vma .initrd=0x0000000003000000 jamais utilisé --> never used
objcopy: --change-section-vma .linux=0x0000000002000000 jamais utilisé --> never used
objcopy: --change-section-vma .cmdline=0x0000000000030000 jamais utilisé --> never used
objcopy: --change-section-vma .osrel=0x0000000000020000 jamais utilisé --> never-used
==> ERROR: UEFI executable generation FAILED”

I looked in mkinitcpio’s command (I am not good in shell script either), the problem seems to come from the “build_uefi()” function. It begins (even before the “kernel image” line) with something about a stub which looks mandatory given the objcopy further, and it looks for the stub in /usr/lib/{systemd or gummiboot}. I do not have any of these and strangely, it does not warn me with the message: “UEFI stub '%s' not found" "$uefistub”.