Skip to main content
Topic: What's the correct way to backup LVM fully encrypted system? (Read 578 times) previous topic - next topic

What's the correct way to backup LVM fully encrypted system?

I want to at least back up my system once I am done configuring it in a way that I could restore it in case of a bad update or if I want to reinstall it fresh after some time.

Best would be however if I could back up the system on each boot up or something similar (assuming it doesn't increase the boot time significantly)

I will be using full encryption including /boot using LVM. On arch wiki I saw a guide for that but it said one requirement is systemd which is obviously the reason I will be using artix.

PS. Appreciate it even more if you can give a small example if it's cmd, I'm a linux beginner-moderate and willing and wanting to learn but also wanting to set up my new system before next week and having a job and a family. :)

Re: What's the correct way to backup LVM fully encrypted system?

Reply #1
This solution is very simple and requires space ( probably using something like a separate hard drive to store the backup ), but it doesn't require you to jump through hoops to keep your backup in one piece, learn complex tools or maintain it's structure:
take an entire image of your storage device using dd(1) and compress it using gzip

Before you do any installation, fill your storage device with zeroes from begging to end ( dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx ), this will help a lot with the compression being more effective. ( filling it with zeroes will also wipe it completely, so get all your data off it )

After the installation and when everything is setup and you want to do backup, run this ( /dev/sdx is your storage device ):
Code: [Select]
dd if=/dev/sdx status=progress bs=512 | gzip - > /mnt/hdd/backup.img.gz

And of course whenever you want roll back your system to that backup, run this:
dd if=/mnt/hdd/backup.img.gz of=/dev/sdx status=progress bs=512