Skip to main content
Topic: What should be in an Artix FAQ for new users (Read 3032 times) previous topic - next topic

What should be in an Artix FAQ for new users

Let's start a proposal of suggestions and proposed content for a FAQ.
Based on what is proposed and agreed (loosely) below this top post will be updated as a cumulative FAQ file

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Repositories for Artix
What is system-world-galaxy-community- .... etc.
How do system-world-galaxy/-testing repositories work https://artixlinux.org/forum/index.php?topic=27

How to install and configure Artix https://artixlinux.org/forum/index.php/topic,41.msg262

Re: What should be in an Artix FAQ for new users

Reply #1
@Eratostenes (Ερατοσθένης) @nous (Νους)
https://artixlinux.org/forum/index.php?topic=135

Let's get organized

Hello, I am new in Artixlinux and It's very cool, I don't like systemd, and Arch+openrc is very nice.

I could help to artix, for example, I see that there is no installation guide for artix-base, it's easy to install and configure artix if you know arch, but some things change a lot because of using openrc instead of systemd, I could write a guide for install, my native language is spanish, my english is not the best but I think that could do it.

Also, I also have decent knowledge about how an arch-based distro and pkgbuilds work, I would not mind, as far as it can help keep certain packages.

Again, I love this distribution, whatever "do not use" systemd seems to me important and that's why I want to collaborate.

Who should I contact for this?

Thanks.
We'd be glad to include well-written guides. Please see our site code to get an idea on how it's composed. I'm thinking of adding a wiki when I get the time. In general, people wanting to contribute should check the sources at github and make PRs. That's by the way the fastest path to becoming a regular maintainer of this awesome distro!

Reply #2